Letsgoctina! : April 2017

Oh my goodness! It is already May! I’ve been meaning to post this at the end of April but I was so caught up with the final rounds of midterms before Finals that I hadn’t had the time!

I am still not sure how I want to format this post…I think I’m just going to look on my instagram posts and try to figure out sort of the general places I’ve been to this past month. My instagram is @letsgoctina and I try to take pictures of all the places I’ve been to and the food that I eat whenever I go to cafes and restaurants.

So the first place that I went this month to (according to my instagram) was Quack’s 43rd Street Bakery! I went with my roommate so that we could just study and get stuff done. I ordered a HUGE cup of their Iced Vietnamese Coffee while she ordered a carrot cake cupcake. This was my second time at Quacks and both times I had their Vietnamese Coffee. It is really intense. Very sweet and VERY STRONG. If you are a coffee lover that likes coffee for its potent-coffee-jam-packed-bitter-but-still-incredibly-sweet-taste, then I highly recommend this! But unless you are planning to stay up all night, I suggest you get like the regular size. I don’t know what I was thinking getting the larger size I think it was 16 oz.? It was huge.

This is a huge cup of coffee!!! #vietnamesecoffee #studydate w/ @cupofjoanne

A post shared by Christina (@letsgoctina) on

I did take some pictures of their cupcakes too! I haven’t tried all of their cupcakes yet (lol) but I have tried their matcha strawberry cupcake and their carrot cake one and they were pretty good!

But unfortunately we didn’t get any work done. It was pretty crowded there and once we sat down in an area where there were outlets, my computer could not connect to the wifi. They did have free wifi and my roommate could connect to it on her computer but my computer sort of just freaked out and so I ended up just sitting there. We then just decided to go home and on our way stop by at Walgreens because we were on the hunt for some glittery eyeshadow (despite my no more buying makeup policy >.< )

So we then got lost (nbd) and eventually stumbled into Walgreens but they didn’t have the eyeshadows we were looking for so we left. Then we waited for like an eternity for our bus to come. It was pretty late I believe around 11 pm? I honestly didn’t know where we were so I just took a picture of the street since why not.

 

 

 

20170402_232438
I honestly don’t know what street this is but it was pretty rustic looking so I took a picture πŸ˜€

Don’t worry we got home safe. Nothing happened. No studying, no makeup, no kidnapping. Nothing.

Then a few days later, my friend since 2nd grade took me out to eat as a “Congratulations: You took the MCAT and survived + You’re Graduating!” dinner to the Clay Pit. She is probably the longest friend that I have ever had in my life. We became friends in elementary and we still talk to each other lol. Neither of us had been here but Yelp had really good reviews so we went. We ordered the Chicken Tiki Masala and the Curried Mussels. We also had two naans, I think the garlic one and jalapeno one. Everything was really delicious. I loved the mussels and the curry on the mussel was really good with the naan. The portions were pretty big so it was more than enough for the two of us. I would come here again if I had a chance.

20170405_192824.jpg
Chicken Tikki Masala and Curried Mussels

The next place I went to in April was Dominican Joe’s. I believe I have done 90% of all my studying this year at this cafe. I’ve spent most of my Fridays and Saturdays here studying for the MCAT, exams, and just to catch up on other school work. It is a 20 minute bus ride from my apartment, which is not bad if you have to bus to places. I love their Caramel Lavender Lattes, Honey Creme Lattes, Flan Lattes, Peach Cobbler Smoothie, and their sandwiches are really good! They have two I believe, Turkey and Raspberry and Chicken Curry Salad and both are really, really delicious. I like the Chicken Curry Salad just a tad more.

Then my friend and I went to Odaku Sushi! If you are on the hunt for a delicious Korean Restaurant in the Austin area: Look no more! Go to Odaku. I usually go here with my parents when they visit me because it is a bit on the pricier side for the average poor college student but you won’t be disappointed. I’ve had their Kimchi jjigae (Kimchi stew) and their Sunji soup (Sunji is coagulated ox-blood), KBBQ, and Seafood Dolsot bibimbop (basically a korean-style rice bowl served in a hot stone bowl). And I was not disappointed at all. Their Sunji soup is my favorite though because it also brings me back memories of my time in Korea. My grandparents used to take me to a restaurant where they served sunji soup as their signature dish and they told me that it was just black-colored tofu. Because it has the consistency of tofu but it is much savorier. And I loved it. When I learned what it was, I was a little shocked but it was too delicious to say no. LOL. Don’t judge before you try it. Please. You will regret it.

Then the next place I went to was Michi Ramen. I have Ramen Tatsuya on my list of places I want to go before I graduate but when we went to Ramen Tatsuya for small group, the line was wayy to long. So we changed our way to Michi Ramen. But then we ended up waiting for an hour here so Idk if we made the right choice lol… I have been to Michi before, I think this was my third time? Yeah and all three times I had their Sapporo. It is really good. I love the corn and the butter and it just flows really well (into my mouth). My only complaint is that the restaurant was really dark.

The next place I went to was to Barton Creek Mall. I have been to this mall before but we had gone pretty late and all the stores were pretty much closing. My roommate had to look for a dress to wear to her church event and I went with her. The bus ride was almost one hour and we ended up not getting anything. I went to Sephora because I wanted the Stila Magnificent Metals Glitter and Glow but they were all sold out. #sad But the day was so beautiful and the temperature was just absolutely perfect that I didn’t mind the travel.

Get out of the view cars!!! Let me see that skyline!! #nofilter #suchaprettysky #austintx

A post shared by Christina (@letsgoctina) on

I finally got to check off one thing on my list! IRENE’S!!!! It was super hyped in the Austin-UT-community that I really wanted to go here! My friend wanted to study and catch up so we went to Irene’s for brunch. It was our first time so we didn’t know the portion size and so we ordered way to much food. But I think it was worth. I took a picture of that famous Irene’s sign and the restaurant was really spacious. I thought it would be really packed but there weren’t that many customers on that day. Inside the restaurant was pretty well lit and was really open. I had their chicken salad and avocado burger and their bacon and eggs toast. My friend had their meatball sandwich and the nutella toast. They were all really good but I’m not sure why this place was so hyped…

Finally get to check off one place from my list!! πŸ‘Œ#Irene's #toast #brunch

A post shared by Christina (@letsgoctina) on

The next place I went this month was to Kung Fu Tea but I don’t really document KFT or Coco’s or Tap house much because I go so regularly. I love boba so I probably go once or twice (sometimes three times) a week. But I never went twice in one day so I had to document it of course. My roommate and I went to Kung Fu Tea and then went to the UT Union building to study. Then we became hungry and went to Tap house. I had their squidballs but I didn’t like it at all. I should have just gotten their chicken balls. The chicken ones are good.

Round two with @cupofjoanne #tappiocaday #partytime #deeplyindebt

A post shared by Christina (@letsgoctina) on

Most of these trips I went with my roommate lol #bestroomieever We were craving jjajangmyeon (black bean noodles) and jjamppong (spicy seafood noodles) and tangsooyuk (fried pork strips with sweet&sour sauce) which is basically Korean version of Chinese food. In Korea, you can taste these beautiful creation with just a phone call away but we had to bus for like 40 minutes to eat them. We went to Hunan and this is the place we usually go to get jjajangmyeon in Austin. It’s not really delicious but it does satisfy the craving. The service is not terrible but not really great since there’s always just one lady serving while there were multiple tables filled. So it was pretty slow but not too terrible since she seemed pretty nice.

My roommate and I went to Barton Creek Mall yet again, hoping to buy some clothes. Since we didn’t get to go to that many places last time we went, we just spontaneously got on the bus and went to the mall. I think it was a Wednesday and neither of us had class so we went. As soon as we got off the bus, I was starving. The first restaurant we saw was The Cheesecake Factory. I have never had their food before, just their cheesecake and so I was pretty shocked to find out that all of their dishes’ calories were 1200+. Like what. That is more than what I had for breakfast and lunch (breakfast being a banana and lunch being a banana). But the food was really good and the portions were huge which was probably why the calories were so high. Their bread was also really good. I don’t know if it was just because I was starving but the bread that they give you to warm up your palate was really good. I couldn’t finish what I had ordered so I took it home and it was a nice lunch for the next day. I had the Bang Bang Chicken and Shrimp! I highly recommend this! If you like sweet curry than this is your dish. I loved it. It’s not authentic curry but I still liked it.

The next picture is of this really antique case at the Pharmacy building at UT. I have my Plant Physiology Class here and every time I passed by I wanted to take a picture of it but I had a class before this class and so I was always rushed. But I got there early and took the picture before going to class. It is a gorgeous case that displays all the old medicinal bottles that used to be used. Some of them still have the labels which I thought was pretty cool. The thought of how fast medicine is changing and how distribution is changing quite rapidly is really mind-blowing.

Close up pics #bottlesandothergoods #blastfrompast

A post shared by Christina (@letsgoctina) on

I’m not sure if this qualifies but I checked off another place that I wanted to visit before I graduate: Gourdough’s! I didn’t go but my roommate did. I was studying/cramming for my plant physiology exam and she went and got us some doughnuts because I have been craving them. #bestroomieever It was delicious. I want to go again. I want them again. I will get them again.

Ever since I found out that I am lactose intolerant, I have been avoiding drinking too much milk. I do drink soymilk whenever I want milk but it doesn’t really taste like milk. So once in a while I’ll still drink milk. It doesn’t feel too bad, but when I do have too much cheese and other dairy, I do get pretty uncomfortable….Anyways…Starbucks had a new drink out. Actually I think it’s been out for a while but I just never looked closely at their menu. I usually just get their Caramel Macchiato with coconut milk or Iced Americano but I saw that they had Coconut Milk Mocha Macchiato so I had to try it…

I don’t think I’ll get it again. It wasn’t bad, it was actually pretty good but it was just too sweet. It kind of just tasted more like drinking coffee-flavored chocolate syrup than chocolate flavored coffee. Does that make sense?

Coconutmilk mocha macchiato…i think lol #coffeeofcourse #coffeeisbae #Starbucks #utaustin

A post shared by Christina (@letsgoctina) on

So this was all the places I’ve been to in the month of April. Although only 5 days have gone by in May, a lot has happened…but more on that in my Monthly Mental Notes.

Thank you for reading this long af post if you got to the end lol.

If you have any suggestions of places I should go in Austin let me know!

Leave a Reply

