Monthly Makeup Commitment: May 2017

I actually meant to post this at the end of April but I was so caught up with the last round of midterms that I kept on pushing it back….

It is May! Which means that it is SUMMER!! I really don’t like summer because I cannot stand the heat. Especially the TEXAS HEAT….And to think that I’m going to have to go to school during the summer makes me cringe >.<

Anyways…before I start, I just want to make a disclaimer. I am not a professional makeup artist and all of these opinions are my own.

I have a very oil face and I sweat quite a lot so during these hotter months, I really don’t like wearing foundation. And so for this month (and most likely June, July, and August) I am going to use the Origins VitaZing SPF 15 Energy-boosting moisturizer with Mangosteen with my favorite concealer, Tarte Shape Tape.

20170507_161002
Tarte Shape Tape and Origins VitaZing SPF15 Energy-boosting moisturizer with Mangosteen

The Origins VitaZing SPF 15 Energy-boosting moisturizer is just a tinted moisturizer. My mom gave me this and it goes on like a normal moisturizer. It does have a tint but its pretty much the color of my skin so it is not noticeable. But I do notice that if I put too much on, or if I’m a bit paler than normal, it does look a little muddy on my face. So I usually just squeeze out a quarter size onto the pack of my hand and lightly just tap it into my face. As for the Tarte Shape Tape concealer (I am in the shade light neutral), I just use the smallest amount. I take the applicator out and make one streak mark under my eyes and few dots around the red acne scars. Then I take a flat foundation brush and just blend. It blends beautifully and still covers my dark circles and the red scars. I love this concealer. A little bit goes a long way!

Like I said, I have a pretty oily face so I do have to set my concealer. And since this is the only powder I have, I will be using it 🙂

wp-image-408483805jpg.jpg

This is the EGLIPS Blur Powder Pact in the shade #23. I used this last month as well and I do really like this powder. Like I said in my last month’s M.M.C, this powder really mattifies my face but I kind of have to be careful or else I’ll look like a dried up paper mache…So I usually pounce the puff on the back of my hand first before applying it to my face…

For my bronzer, I am going to use the Cargo Swimmables Water Resistant Bronzer. I got this in one of my Boxycharm and I honestly don’t know how I feel about this bronzer. It is a really pretty color but it is too orange and whenever I use it as a bronzer, it looks sort of red. It looks more like an orange/red blush than a bronzer on my skin tone. But it makes a gorgeous eyeshadow!!! It claims to be water-resistant and I’m not sure if it is or not but when I used this as an eyeshadow without an eyeshadow base, it stayed on without creasing which is a big hit for my oily face. So I probably will not use this bronzer as bronzer but maybe as a light blush to just give me that I-am-going-to-the-beach-vibe or an eyeshadow color.

20170507_160907
Cargo Swimmables Water Resistant Bronzer

Moving on to blush and highlight. Side note: I LOVE BLUSHES! I think blushes are my second favorite makeup category (with the first being eyeshadows). For this month, I am going to use Colourpop Super Shock Cheek in the shade Quarters. I think this is the first face product that I have ordered from Colourpop and the first blush in my collection that I’ve hit pan on!! And then for my highlight I will be using Colourpop Super Shock Cheek in the shade Wisp. I love this highlighter! It is so creamy and silky when you swatch it with your finger to the point it almost feels like a cream. But its powder…its the strangest thing…And it also blends really well!!

20170507_160926.jpg
Colourpop Super Shock Cheek Quarters and Wisp

The Quarters blush is a rosy pink color with a bit of a gold sheen. The gold sheen is not too obvious but it does peek through in the sunlight. It is beautiful. My mom saw that I was using this and she also bought one herself. These Colourpop blushes are really pigmented so you have to be careful. I take a stippling brush and just swirl it around the pan and then I swirl the brush on the cap (that’s why the cap is stained lol). I do this to make sure the brush is coated with the product evenly and then I tap the brush onto my cheek lightly. And once a bit of product is on, I use circular motions to blend it out with the brush. This is such a pretty color that I use it as an eyeshadow as well.

This highlighter by Colourpop is also quite stunning. It is one of those highlighters that allows you to communicate to your friend in Mars so if you like blinding highlights, I suggest you checkout Colourpop’s highlighters and if you have already, HIGHFIVE GIRL!!! (you know what I’m talking about!!!) I use my ring finger and swirl it around to get some pigment then I tap the product onto my cheekbones, down the bridge of my nose, on my chin, and then on my cupids bow.

For my eyes….Guys. I did some damage. To my bank account that is. I gave in during one of Stila’s sales and promotion and I purchased the Stila Magnificent Metals Glitter & Glow Liquid Eye Shadow in the shade Kitten Karma. T.T But in my defense, with the promotion code for free shipping and 10% off I got the product for about $23 including tax! And since without the promotion the it would have cost me almost $30…so I say that’s a win and that my purchase was justifiable. Right? (please agree with me…)

20170507_161133
Stila Magnificent Metals Glitter & Glow Liquid Eye in the shade Kitten Karma

This is one of my holy grail item. I knew that when I swatched this that I would love this to the ends of time. Yes. Yes. Beautiful. To quote the one and only, Jaclyn Hill “If you love glitter and you don’t have this, you’re doing it wrong.” I agree 100%.

To finish up my eyes, I will be using the L’Oreal Voluminous Carbon Black Mascara. I have used the Dr. Mascara Fixer last month but I don’t really like it for my upper lashes. My upper lashes are pretty weak and so if something heavy goes on, it just comes down losing its curl. So when I used the Dr.Mascara Fixer, my lashes fell down and then became fixed at that spot. And then when I coated the Carbon Black mascara on top of that, my lashes just drooped down. But when I used the Dr.Mascara Fixer for my lower lashes, it worked! So I’m just going to be using it on my lower lashes.

To tightline my eyes, I will be using this mini Marc Jacobs Highliner Gel pencil that I got from Sephora as their birthday promotion. This is just the black one and I don’t really put on eyeliner so I don’t really know if this one is good or not. But it doesn’t leave me looking like a raccoon so thumbs up! Then for my brows I will be using this Colourpop Brow Pencil in Bangin Brunette. I used this last month as well and this is the only brow product I own besides their brow colour (which is their brow pomade). But this is so much easier to use than the pomade that I reach for this more.

Finally for my lips. Summer time is coming which means that my hair will be 90% up in a pony tail or I’ll be wearing a cap 95% of the time. Which means that I can wear lip glosses! I usually don’t like to wear lip glosses because my hair keeps getting stuck to them, but with my hair out of the way => TIME TO BUST OUT MY LIP GLOSSES!!

20170507_161231.jpg
Nyx Butter Gloss in the shade Maple Blondie

This is the Nyx Butter Gloss in the shade Maple Blondie. I own three lip glosses and they are all Nyx Butter Glosses. I think these lip glosses are great! They are not too sticky and gloopy and they are super pigmented. The also smell and taste great so ++!

Here are the swatches of the products:

L to R: Maple Blondie, Kitten Karma, Wisp, Quarters, Cargo

This is it for my May Makeup Commitment. Thank you so much for reading it to this point if you got this far. lol.

Let me know if you have used any of these products before and if you like them or don’t like them 🙂

Leave a Reply

